The unofficial Honda Forum and Discussion Board Forums For Honda automobile and motorcycle enthusiasts.

The unofficial Honda Forum and Discussion Board Forums For Honda automobile and motorcycle enthusiasts. (https://hondaforum.com/forum/)
-   General Honda Talk (https://hondaforum.com/forum/general-honda-talk-38/)
-   -   Do I really need new Struts in my 2008 Accord Honda? (https://hondaforum.com/forum/general-honda-talk-38/do-i-really-need-new-struts-my-2008-accord-honda-7722/)

paturner51 03-10-2012 04:11 PM

Do I really need new Struts in my 2008 Accord Honda?

I have a 2008 Honda Accord LX with 62,000 miles and it has performed admirably. This is my 6th Honda. I am not a mechanic, nor claim to be but DO have some common sense. I do not derive pleasure from working on my Hondas, but do revel in the satisfaction that they look good and last a long time and are safe for my daughter and myself.

Now that I have that out of the way, the issue:

My wife took the Honda to a repair shop. It is seemingly reputable but I don't know that for sure. The young mechanic called me up on my wife's instructions to tell me that I needed front struts and that they would cost $820 for labor and parts.

I tried to get him to explain to my satisfaction WHY the struts needed repair in light of all my excellent experiences with Honda. The car drives straight and true with no problems and handles in a word, GREAT. I am very suspicious of what this guy tells me in light of my history. All I could get out of him was something about leaking water or "loose". <???>.

I ASSUME the handling would change perceptibly if "bad struts". I don't know a strut from streetcar if the truth be told.

To the reader:

Outside of taking the car to a different mechanic shop (BTW this was "NTB" store) to verify, how could my low IQ verify what he says is the real, ground truth? If the car drives well, then should not that prove - by and large - there is no "strut" problem?