The unofficial Honda Forum and Discussion Board Forums For Honda automobile and motorcycle enthusiasts.

The unofficial Honda Forum and Discussion Board Forums For Honda automobile and motorcycle enthusiasts. (https://hondaforum.com/forum/)
-   General Tech Help (https://hondaforum.com/forum/general-tech-help-37/)
-   -   1998 Honda Cr-v Overheating (https://hondaforum.com/forum/general-tech-help-37/1998-honda-cr-v-overheating-12799/)

ironknight 06-24-2018 07:01 PM

1998 Honda Cr-v Overheating

I have a 1998 Honda CR-V. The transmission went bad. I ended up rebuilding the Transmission and engine while I had it out. I have no experience in this. I watched many YOU TUBE videos to learn how to do it. The engine is a B20B with a auto AWD transmission. Nothing fancy all stock. New parts related to coolant: water pump, thermostat*, radiator, replaced drivers side fan motor**, new coolant sensor on thermostat housing. *I took the thermostat out to make sure the new one was not the problem and have not reinstalled it yet. **after driving the car, the temp was very hot but not to the red I had the A/C on both fans were running, I cut the A/C off and both fans cut off with the engine very hot. Seems odd but when the engine got hot I had the A/c on. Another thought was a bad head gasket. I got one of those head gasket testers that you pour the blue liquid into and see if it turns yellow. It never turned yellow. According to that test the head gasket is good. I have a tester to check for the proper coolant ratio and I have the correct ratio. I was also concerned about an air bubble in the system, I took off the upper radiator hose and hooked a water hose to it and let the water run thru it for a few mins. One other thing that may be related is that if I drive the car and it gets hotter than it is suppose to (not to the red line), and I cut it off to let it cool down it has a hard time starting back up. It turns over slowly and gradually speeds up until it starts. It may take a