General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Odyssey question...

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2006, 03:30 AM
Default Odyssey question...

ok well there was no posts in the Odyssey section so i thought i would just post it here...

I have a friend that has i think an 99 or 00 Odyssey that has had it's EGR valve replaced 3 times... and this time they (the dealership) is saying that the part will cost 600 bucks and stuff... and there is NO WAY it would cost that much...or would it? I've never worked on any Honda's before or anything so any help would be grateful... she also said that the place said the EGR was in the rear and it was a canister... why on earth would it be in the rear? and what is in the rear that would look like a canister...i thought maybe the AC condensor or compressor for the rear air but i haven't been able to look under it at all yet... also how hard would it be to replace an EGR valve on the Odysseys? i know how to work on Dodges and Neons...but Honda's are a completely different ball park for me...

Old 11-12-2006, 05:54 PM
Default RE: Odyssey question...

ORIGINAL: neoncrazy101

ok well there was no posts in the Odyssey section so i thought i would just post it here...

I have a friend that has i think an 99 or 00 Odyssey that has had it's EGR valve replaced 3 times... and this time they (the dealership) is saying that the part will cost 600 bucks and stuff... and there is NO WAY it would cost that much...or would it? I've never worked on any Honda's before or anything so any help would be grateful...
I don't know the Odessey but most vehicles are similar in their EVAP systems.

Sounds like you weren't there to hear first hand what was described to her so it's likely a case of confusion as to what they're working on.

she also said that the place said the EGR was in the rear and it was a canister... why on earth would it be in the rear?