Honda Civic Forum This top selling compact car, offered in both a coupe or sedan, has become popular among people who want economy and performance.

Newbie Replacing '95 Honda Civic engine - NEED HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2009, 11:36 AM
Default Newbie Replacing '95 Honda Civic engine - NEED HELP!

Hi all -

My recently purchased 95 honda civic lx has died. Apparently, the crank shaft fell off bottom of engine while running, consequently destroying at least bottom portion of engine.

i am trying to gain information on replacing entire engine, or at least bottom portion (head was just replaced along with valves). I am a newbie w/Honda's and not a car expert by any means.

If anyone has completed this job, please help me out with some info. I am trying to find out what my options are for engine replacement. Must new engine be from a 95 Honda Civic LX, or are there other models with same engine?

Thanks in advance for helping me out!

Scott

Old 12-07-2009, 11:58 AM
Default also have a vtech question..

If i find a suitable replacement 95 honda civic engine, does it matter if it is vtech? original engine was not vtech and i would only choose to put in a replacement vtech engine if there is no additional work/parts needed for this.

Old 12-08-2009, 11:48 AM
Super Moderator