General Honda Talk Talk about any general Honda information in here.

Engine Misfire

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2017, 07:11 PM
Default Engine Misfire

Hello Everyone, this is my first time posting anything here and I hope my post follows the rules. In April of 2017 I bought a used 2002 Honda Accord LX which had 160,000 miles on it and it has a manual 5-speed transmission. Traveling down to North Carolina on Monday, August 7 and when I got down around Fredericksburg, Va.,the car starting running crappy and the check engine light was blinking, not steady. I had a cheap code reader and plugged it in and it said that #4 cylinder was misfiring. I'm not any sort of mechanic, I was close to a Pep boys auto parts store and I went in and bought new plugs and a new distributor cap and rotor and changed them,(the wires were brand new when I got the car) and it still didn't make any difference, it was still reading a misfire. There was a Honda dealer about three miles away so I called them and explained the problem and they said to drive it over and they'd fix it. After nearly four hours of labor and checking a variety of things, including the power packs, they finally came out and said that the engine needed to be torn down, they felt it was a compression issue. I only paid $2400 for it the repairs were going to cost more than it's worth. They asked me how far I had driven the car with the check engine light blinking and I said no more than three miles including the two miles to the Honda dealer who I told the light was blinking and they still told me to drive it over! Does anyone have any advice on what I should do or any ideas about what the problem could be? Sorry about the long post but I wanted to explain it all. Thanks

Old 08-09-2017, 08:28 PM
Super Moderator