Honda Accord Forum This popular mid sized car is offered in both a coupe and sedan, mixes performance with versatility.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2003 Honda Accord

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2018, 10:51 AM
Default 2003 Honda Accord

Hi, new to forum. I'm a novice DIY home mechanic with some basic skills. I have a 2003 Honda Accord with 180000 that won't start. Drove it into the driveway earlier this week and the next morning it didn't start. Checked it the next day and was able to get it to run for a short period but ran very rough and died upon revving the engine. No check engine light on the dash. Fuel pump is good and fuel is getting to injector rail. Have yet to check the spark plugs. A quick look on the web left me thinking either crankshaft positioning sensor or timing chain. Not sure where to go from here. Gonna check if I have spark next. Any advice would help.

Old 06-24-2018, 12:34 PM

Originally Posted by Whaleman86
Hi, new to forum. I'm a novice DIY home mechanic with some basic skills. I have a 2003 Honda Accord with 180000 that won't start. Drove it into the driveway earlier this week and the next morning it didn't start. Checked it the next day and was able to get it to run for a short period but ran very rough and died upon revving the engine. No check engine light on the dash. Fuel pump is good and fuel is getting to injector rail. Have yet to check the spark plugs. A quick look on the web left me thinking either crankshaft positioning sensor or timing chain. Not sure where to go from here. Gonna check if I have spark next. Any advice would help.
Update: checked spark- it will only spark once or not at all when cranking the engine. Checked ignition relay- works.

Old 06-24-2018, 06:55 PM
Super Moderator

welcome to the forum. coil failure? my 02 civic 1 coil failed for a rough engine. just about the same milage as your accord.

Old 07-09-2018, 08:30 PM