CR-V Forum This compact SUV offers the usefulness of an SUV without the steep fuel bill thanks to the efficient yet powerful engine.

Signal Blinker Issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2017, 11:18 PM
Default Signal Blinker Issue

Hello, this is my first time on this forum. I have a 2014 Honda CR-V that is giving me issues with the right side turn signal blinkers. The front and rear signal indicators are blinking fast. I already changed both turn signal bulbs and they still blink fast. I was told by my local auto parts store and Honda dealer that my 2014 CR-V doesn't have an actual 'signal flasher relay.' Has anyone had this issue? Please advice and thanks!

Old 07-10-2021, 12:02 PM
Default Got it fix on my Honda CR-V EX-L 2013

I had this same issue. Front driver-side blinker went out "a fast dash blinking signal"... so I went to auto-parts store for a replacement bulb. They sold me an 1156A bulb... and I installed it. Light worked great until it got dark and the auto headlights came on... then the blinker lite up solid-not blinking (both front, rear and dash signal driver-side). If I turned off the headlights, the blinker went off.

I went to this forum and read about checking the socket... so I did. I noticed that the socket had 2 contacts at the bottom and a ground on the side. The 1156A bulb only had a single contact on its bottom (like a household lightbulb). So then the single contact would offer 2 states (On or Off)... but I noticed that when my headlights were on, there passenger side blinker was "dim lite". So I figured the bulb would need 3 states (Off, On-Dim, and On-Lite).

I went back to the store and told them what I found, they then switched out the 1156A for an 1157A (which this bulb had 2 contacts on its bottom instead of just one). Then when I went to install it... I noticed it went in only one-way (unlike the other bulb which went in backwards or forwards).