New Member Area New to HF? Stop in tell us about yourself.

2004 element battery dies while driving (not the alternator) ***please read***

Old 04-24-2019, 09:04 PM
Exclamation 2004 element battery dies while driving (not the alternator) ***please read***

Apologize in advance for the long post, but I know I hate it when I only get part of the story when I am on the forums. Hi guys. First time post. I bought my daughter an E one month ago. 2004 LX 158k. Got what I thought was a great deal. Paid $1400. It was absolutely filthy and the suspension needed A LOT of work, but started and ran great. Was really excited to see that the engine was replaced by the dealer. I am a pretty good mechanic so I gladly paid & drove away patting myself on the back. Got it home and brought my wife out to show her. When I went to start it, nothing. Would not start. Checked all fuses nothing was blown, but did put all the proper amp fuses in. It started right up. A couple days later, I noticed that the fuel pump wouldn’t prime and again a no start. I started checking the fuses, but when I simply pressed the fuel pump fuse under dash, I could hear the pump kick on. Started right up. So proceeded to check and clean the contact point. I also noticed that the top mount on the box was broken so the box is only supported by the bottom bolt.